Department of Justice honors its own

by Ben Vernia | October 17th, 2012

On October 17, the Department of Justice held its annual awards ceremony. Among those honored, for work on fraud cases, were one group for a national mortgage servicing settlement:

The third Distinguished Service Award is presented to the individuals involved in procuring a $25 billion mortgage servicing settlement between the United States, 49 state attorneys general and the five largest mortgage servicers, representing the largest federal-state settlement in history. The settlement includes comprehensive new mortgage loan servicing standards, $5 billion to state and federal treasuries and borrowers who lost their homes to foreclosure, $20 billion in consumer relief and a $1 billion resolution of False Claims Act recoveries by the Eastern District of New York.

Award recipients include, from the Office of the Associate Attorney General, Senior Counsel and Chief of Staff Brian Hauck; from the Civil Division’s Fraud Section, Deputy Director Michael D. Granston and Trial Attorney John Warshawsky; from the Civil Rights Division’s Housing and Civil Enforcement Section, Trial Attorneys Elizabeth A. Singer, Amber R. Standridge and Daniel Yi; from the Eastern District of New York, Assistant U.S. Attorneys Kenneth M. Abell and Richard K. Hayes; from the District of Colorado, Assistant U.S. Attorney J. Chris Larson; from the District of Colorado’s Civil Division, Chief Kevin T. Traskos; from the Colorado Attorney General’s Office Consumer Protection Section, First Assistant Attorney General Andrew P. McCallin; from the Florida Office of the Attorney General’s Division of Economic Crimes, Bureau Chief Victoria A. Butler; from the North Carolina Department of Justice’s Consumer Protection Division, Assistant Attorney General Philip A. Lehman; from the Office of the Connecticut Attorney General’s Finance Department, Assistant Attorney General Matthew J. Budzik; from the Office of the Illinois Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division, Chief Deborah A. Hagan; from the Office of the Attorney General of Texas’ Consumer Protection Division, Assistant Attorney General James A. Daross; from the Washington Office of the Attorney General, Senior Counsel David W. Huey; and from the Iowa Office of the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division, Assistant Attorney General Patrick T. Madigan.

Also honored were several employees involved in a large criminal health care fraud settlement

The Attorney General’s Award for Fraud Prevention recognizes exceptional dedication and effort to prevent, investigate and prosecute fraud, white-collar crimes and official corruption. This year’s award is presented to the investigation and prosecution team responsible for the case involving American Therapeutic Corporation (ATC), one of the largest healthcare fraud cases in the United States. The case involved the submission of more than $205 million in fraudulent claims to the Medicare program by ATC. One ATC owner who pleaded guilty was sentenced to serve 50 years in prison, and two other ATC owners were sentenced to serve 35 years in prison.

Award recipients include, from the FBI’s Miami Field Office, Supervisory Special Agent Randall C. Culp; Special Agents Patrick R. Koeth and Ellen S. Thomas; from the Criminal Division, Trial Attorney Jennifer Saulino; Fraud Section Assistant Chief Benjamin Singer; Assistant Special Agent in Charge Omar Pérez Aybar; and from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General, Special Agent Daniel Arce.

Congratulations to all the award recipients.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Recent Comments